My First Matryoshka Doll

I got very happy excited when Snipsnaphappy posted a Matryoshka Doll Tutorial yesterday. I had to make one right away — and I will have to make some more. My first doll has a few minor flaws, but I am sure my skill will improve with practice.

She is really quite a plain looking doll, but I think that she is supposed to be a simple country girl.

The tutorial said to paint the face features, but I embroidered mine instead. The mouth is a little heavy so I will use less thread next time. I used ink from my scrapbbooking stash for her cheeks.

Here she is showing off one more time. What do you think of her?

8 Comments

Filed under Fabric And Thread

8 responses to “My First Matryoshka Doll

  1. I think she is WONDERFUL! She reminds me of the story I used to read with my 3rd graders called “Molly’s Pilgrim”. She’s terrific! Make more!!

  2. She sure is a cutie – I like to embroider the faces on my dolls to0, not so good with the paintbrush when the surface isn’t solid. Enjoy

  3. Beautiful work! I love the deep turquoise with the deep red!

  4. Hi, thank you so much for visiting me. I think you have a wonderful blog, andf the toys are just great! I wish I could sew, but I don’t think I’m patient enough.

  5. ‘Aaawwwww’ she is adorable – I think you’ve done a mighty fine job and I love the embroidered face.

    take care,

    Nina x

  6. Sweet! Love the colors, friend. And that awesome button.

  7. Lottie

    He, he, they’re fun aren’t they. I intend to make another tonight, then another tomorrow and perhaps another the next day….:-)

  8. Ali

    Oh how fabulous! She looks brilliant! I love how you embroidered her face. That blue and white ribbon (is it ribbon?) is gorgeous.
    I’m so glad you used the tutorial!
    Ali
    x